Board of Directors

Over 300 years of cumulative experience in commodities, energy, financial technology and management of public companies. Our Board of Directors is comprised of individuals that support Abaxx with key partnerships and guidance to drive our company and its mission forward.

Joshua D. Crumb

Founder & CEO

Mr. Crumb is the Founder and CEO of Abaxx Technologies and Abaxx Exchange. Prior to Abaxx, Mr. Crumb was a co-founder of Goldmoney Inc. and has served as its Chief Strategy Officer and Director since 2014, and its Chief Financial Officer since 2017.

Mr. Crumb was previously an Executive Director at Goldman Sachs – the Senior Metals Strategist in the Global Economics, Commodities and Strategy Research Division in London; a co-founder and Chief Financial Officer of Coffee Flour, and a Director of Corporate Development at the Lundin Group of Companies.

Mr. Crumb holds a Master of Science in Mineral Economics, a Graduate Certificate in International Political Economy, and a Bachelor of Science degree in Engineering from the Colorado School of Mines.

Margot Naudie

Lead Independent Director

Mrs. Naudie serves as the Lead Independent Director for Abaxx.

She is a seasoned 25-year capital markets professional with global investment expertise as a Senior Portfolio Manager for long-only and long/short North American and global natural resource portfolios. Margot has held senior roles at leading multi-billion-dollar asset management firms, including TD Asset Management, Marret Asset Management, and CPP Investment Board. Margot was cited as a Brendan Wood TopGun Investment Mind (Platinum) for five consecutive years. She acts as an active and engaged Independent Director on public and private company boards. She sits on Investment Committees and Chairs Audit, Compensation, and HR and ESG Committees.

Margot has a Bachelor of Arts in Politics/Economics from McGill University, an MBA from the Ivey School of Business, and is a Chartered Financial Analyst.

Catherine Flax

Independent Director of HR Committee

Mrs. Flax serves as the Independent Director of HR Committee for Abaxx.

As a former Wall Street executive, Mrs. Flax previously served as Managing Director and Head of Commodity Derivatives, Foreign Exchange and Local Markets, Americas at BNP Paribas. She also held the position of Chief Marketing Officer for J.P.Morgan. Mrs. Flax has been a leader in the FinTech space, sitting on the boards of several organizations including Digital Asset Holdings, a market leading blockchain company, as well as Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association (SIFMA). Prior to her role as CEO of Pefin, Mrs. Flax was an advisor to the company in matters of marketing regulation, compliance, business development, strategy and international growth.

Daniel P. Owen Chair of Nominating and Governance Committee Abaxx

Thom McMahon

Founder & Director

Thomas McMahon has over 30 years of experience in international exchange-based Commodity and Derivative product creation, clearing, trading, and regulatory licensing. Over the past decade, Thom has worked broadly across Asia to bring to market major international exchange formation and licensing projects in Singapore, Japan, Korea, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, Australia, Dubai and India. Thom previously served as Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of the Singapore Mercantile Exchange from April 2009 until June 2011 after licencing and launching an exchange and clearing house now owned by Intercontinental Exchange, Inc. Thom was also a former President of the Hong Kong Mercantile Exchange, and a Vice President and Director of the NYMEX, now part of the CME Group Inc.

Daniel P. Owen Chair of Nominating and Governance Committee Abaxx

Daniel P. Owen

Chair of Nominating & Governance Committee

Mr. Owen is an investor and entrepreneur. He is currently Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of a private investment management company, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of a private aerodrome management company, and a former Senior Vice President, Operations, of the Canada Development Corporation (later named Polysar Energy & Chemical Corporation). Mr. Owen has served on the boards of directors and on all the committees of a number of Canadian public companies. 

Daniel P. Owen Chair of Nominating and Governance Committee Abaxx

Scott Leckie

Chair of Audit committee

Mr. Leckie is Chairman, CEO, and controlling shareholder of Takota Asset Management. Takota Asset Management is a private investment company having returned all external capital in early 2020. Mr. Leckie was previously a founding partner, director, and senior officer of Aquilon Capital, an investment firm started in 1990 and sold to National Bank Financial in 2008. While at Aquilon Capital Mr. Leckie’s portfolio management efforts produced a successful capital allocation track record of approximately 20% per annum over the 18 years of the firm’s existence. Mr. Leckie has founded seven different private companies for which he held senior management and Board of Director responsibilities. In addition, Mr. Leckie’s activities as a Portfolio Manager and investor have resulted in his taking Board seats on certain public companies in the past. Currently Mr. Leckie is the chair of the audit committee of the public company Acerus Pharmaceuticals and serves on the board of the private company Sterling Maple Corp. Mr. Leckie is a Chartered Financial Analyst, having earned that designation in 1992.